Claire Economidou

Dr. Claire Economidou is Professor of Economics at the Department of Economics of the University of Piraeus. Claire joined the Department in 2010 as Assistant Professor of Macroeconomics at the Department of Economics. Four years later, she became Associate Professor (2014) and as for 2018 Claire is (full) Professor of Macroeconomics.

Before joining the University of Piraeus in 2010, Claire worked for six years (2004-2009) as Assistant Professor of Macroeconomics at the Utrecht School of Economics USE), Utrecht University, the Netherlands. Prior to her appointment in the Netherlands, Claire was a trainee for six months at the EUROSTAT (European Commission, Department of Trade), Luxembourg.

She holds a Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree in Economics from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (UWM, 2004), a Master of Arts (MA) degree in Economics from the University of Macedonia of Thessaloniki, Greece (2000) and a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree in Mathematics from the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece (1997).

Her research interests lie on the fields of Economic Growth and Economics of Innovation. More specifically, her current research agenda is mainly concentrated on the mechanisms of knowledge diffusion and their impact on local innovation and growth activity, the role of finance  on firms’ innovation performance, the role of institutions (and social capital) in shaping innovation and entrepreneurship, among others.

She has published more than 30 papers in academic journals -some of which are leading in the field- such as the European Economic Review, the Journal of Development Economics, the Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, among others, and part of her research has been financed by the European Research Grants (Horizon) and the National Strategic Reference Framework (NSRF) grants.

She has supervised Ph.D. and Post-Doc students, whose research was mostly financed by National Fellowships (Bank of Greece), EU (NSRF, Horizon2020) grants. Currently, her research team consists of eight members: Fotis Delis, (Ph.D.), Konstantinos Dellis (Post-Doc), Evangelia Georgiou (Ph.D.), Dimitris Karamanis (Post-Doc), Alexandra Kechrinioti (Ph.D.), Dimitris Konstantios (Ph.D.), Eleni Kyrkopoulou (Post-Doc) and Sofia Xesfingi (Post-Doc).

Speaker Details
Speaker Details